GET YOUR ASS OUTSIDE: On Finding Mount Galiano (And Getting To The Very Top Of It) : Scout Magazine

25 02 2013

I love Scout Magazine. It’s got nothing to do with Scouts, but I’ll let it off! It’s full of all those quirky little nuggets that make Greater Vancouver greater. This article’s actually about Galiano – the island not the Harvey Wallbanger ingredient. I bring it to your attention because of serendipity.

Just the other day, I was chatting to a fellow snowshoer at Callaghan Valley about how I’d walked this trail on Galiano, and looked down onto the tops of very tall trees from a vertiginous path.

I smiled as soon as I saw this article because there are the very trees in one of the photos. Please click on the photo or the link and read the short article by Ariel Taylor, as she implores you to get your ass outside. (I’ve noticed that North Americans seem to have a lot of mules and donkeys…). If you don’t actually possess a beast of burden, then I suggest you take your own arse outside instead.

GET YOUR ASS OUTSIDE: On Finding Mount Galiano (And Getting To The Very Top Of It) : Scout Magazine.

GET YOUR ASS OUTSIDE: On Finding Mount Galiano (And Getting To The Very Top Of It) : Scout Magazine

View from Galiano onto treetops. Source: Scout Magazine

Actions

Information

3 responses

27 02 2013
lanceleuven

For some reason that shot reminds me a little of Norway. All the same, it looks pretty epic.

27 02 2013
Quieter Elephant

Yeah – I think Slartibartfast made it with the leftover bits. It’s very similar geology I think. VERY deep waters once you’re away from shore.

27 02 2013
lanceleuven

Hah! Clever fella that Slartibartfast…

Sounds very similar to Norway. I have a photo somewhere of a massive ship that had pulled right up alongside the jetty. It just didn’t look right, this massive ship right next to the shore. But the water was just so deep that it could.

Leave a Reply

