Photos from today’s dog walk

20 09 2015

At the weekend I like to try and give the dog a bit more of a long walk. It’s good for the pair of us.

The weather has changed distinctly autumnal recently and though the temperatures are still on the balmy side, it’s a lot wetter and today – windier. I absolutely adore this time of year. The winds make everything fresh and somehow renewed. The dead leaves and twigs are stripped from the trees. Sometimes a whole tree at a time! And I love walking in the rain. When I’m suitably attired of course!

Anyway, I had my phone camera with me so I snapped a few impressions as we walked around.

Bark Detail

Bark Detail

No idea what kind of trees these were, but the layered effect of the bark made them almost look like relief models of some strange planet. Note the small growths of lichen.

The way we came

The way we came

I really enjoy the way Surrey’s parks use natural materials so they become part of the landscape.

Footstep Fungus

Footstep Fungus

The long dry summer and now wet autumn has really boosted the various fruiting bodies of the local fungi. This one was evident in the cracks of three or four steps.

Alpha and Omega

Alpha and Omega

I thought it poignant that here in one place were the very beginnings of a tree – a seed, and also the very end – machined planks made into a handrail.

Ermy-germy

Ermy-germy

On the way back out of the forest I suddenly became aware that every couple of metres there was one or more of these metallic copper beetles. They were quite large. I can only think the dry summer had squeezed their activity into the short period remaining until winter hits.

Actions

Information

2 responses

21 09 2015
kalyrical

My boyfriend’s parents were on a walk and they found some fungus. Turns out it was something called “Chicken of the Woods”, and it’s quite expensive. They ended up cutting it and cooking it, and apparently it tastes like really tough chicken. The pics of fungi reminded me of it 🙂

22 09 2015
Quieter Elephant

I’ve heard a lot about chicken of the woods (Laetiporus) but never actually seen it yet. I think you’re only supposed to eat the outer inch or so because the rest – as you mentioned- it a bit tough or “woody”.

Leave a Reply

