Dee-bee dee-bee dee…

19 09 2015

My now-wife used to work for a guy who incessantly hummed “Strangers in the Night” by Frank Sinatra. Drove her mad. Naturally I have since “doo-bi doo-bi doo’d” on occasions I particularly want to annoy her. You know. Special occasions. When I’m awake.

Anyway yesterday we had some shopping chores to attend to in Richmond and I happened to park next to an Aston Martin DB9. Aston Martin-Lagonda is based in Newport Pagnell which is essentially Milton Keynes (though the DB9 is made in Gaydon, Warks.). In the many years I lived there I only ever saw one – an ugly ’80s Lagonda. It was covered in thick white wax as it was being driven to the dealership. Or a horror film set. Not sure now. Did you know there was a Lagonda Flamethrower used during WWII? Wow! What a way to go – flambé’d by a luxury flamethrower!

Since moving to Vancouver though I see loads of Aston Martins. Thankfully they have now returned to a much more stylish form like they had in Bond’s days (DB5). The DB tag comes from Sir David Brown (the head of Aston Martin from 1947 to 1972).

Thank-you, I'll take two!

Thank-you, I’ll take two!

Style on a stick

Style on a stick

Shame about the crass number plate!

Shame about the crass number plate!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

