Richmond Learns to Park

22 07 2015

Some time ago, my kids told me of a web site dedicated to poor examples of parking in Richmond, BC. I never bothered to look into it, as it smacked more than a little of racism. Today though, in research for this posting, I looked and the Facebook page does document some spectacular examples:

Facebook: Richmond Learns to Park

All this went unremembered until I returned to my car yesterday lunchtime. I’d driven a couple of colleagues for dim sum at Cambie and 5th, and returned to find a signpost embedded in my front grille:

Precision Parking

Precision Parking

Takes some mad skills

Takes some mad skills

Now – credit where it’s due: unlike myself the driver of the Ford F150 truck had reversed into the parking place. I was taught on my advanced driving courses that this is preferable to allow for more options when leaving the parking place. Furthermore, the driver had positioned it very accurately side-to-side in the spot. So accurately in fact that when he/she underestimated the length of their truck (even without towing hitch they were over the yellow curb), the hitch lined up exactly with the signpost between the separating curbstones. An inch or so either way and the hitch would have missed. Now THAT is accuracy.

I must however comment on Richmond City. Aware, no doubt, of the low regard its residents occasionally have for lines, boundaries and other parking expectations… they’d actually installed the signs on springs. Yup – they EXPECT them to be knocked over, and instead of paying for them to be repaired regularly had simply taken the hit of a more expensive initial installation, and mounted them all on flexible springs.

Thankfully there was no physical damage to my car, so it all got brushed off as “one of those things”. If you see a silver F150 with BC plate 8126 YR though, take my advice… don’t stand behind it!

Actions

Information

One response

6 09 2015
Richmond still learning to park | Quieter Elephant

[…] Further tales of Richmond woe here. […]

Leave a Reply

