Busy Few Days

13 05 2015

Well this afternoon I make my way to old Blighty for a couple of customer visits in Brum. It’s an overnight flight so when you add the inevitable lack of sleep from annoying seat-mates or teething children to the lost 8 hours due to physics and time zones, I’m really hoping I just remember to drive on the left when I get there! As I recall, LHR to Birmingham is pretty straightforward, but traffic in the UK was already a nightmare 15 years ago when I left. I think I’ll swing by my father-in-law’s in Milk’n’beans for a sit-down and a cup of tea en route. He’s coming to the Wet Coast in June to join us for my eldest’s graduation from Waterloo, so I’m half-expecting he’ll be wanting me to carry something or other back with me.

Anyway, from Milton Keynes I continue to the hotel in Birmingham tomorrow night and visit the customers on Friday. I have to pick up a colleague flying in from Dusseldorf, so it’s a lot of to-ing and fro-ing.

The pay-off though is that I get the weekend in the UK to myself. It’s my mum’s 74th birthday on Saturday, so I’m heading up to Yorkshire to buy her a fancy dinner (despite her insistence on using some voucher at the local pub/restaurant). Sunday night I’m flying with Germanwings to Cologne, and spending the week there at a trade show. FESPA if you’re in the ‘hood.

Monday’s a holiday here though, so I’ll miss out on that. I’ll just have to celebrate Queen Victoria’s birthday on my own in Köln. Quelle domage. Fizzy beer and sausage!

Thursday night, I’m back in Heathrow and stopping off for a curry in Sipson – most recommended, by the way. Time zones and physics pay back on Friday and I land in Vancouver at a time that is impossibly close to the time I set off. Saturday I’ll most likely sleep it off, which is a shame because that’s my own birthday.

I really must start looking into the possibilities of growing up.

Nah… maybe next year.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

