X marks the spot

14 05 2013

Today is election day in BC.

Number 2 child got to vote for the first time, so I took her along this morning to the “Voting Place” – really?! What ever happened to “Polling Station“? Another case of the English language being simplified and dumbed down for the hard of thinking? Winston Smith would find things easy here…

Anyway, she was fêted as if she were royalty (being a first timer), which helped make a positive impression I’m sure. I guess she looked like a noob. She commented on how laid back things seemed to be, but I pointed out how very meticulous the process actually was (they wouldn’t even begin to look for me in the register until her vote was in the box). I’m glad she actively wanted to take part in the election. It’s an important part of who we are as Canadians (when we’re not being British, or English or Yorkshiremen – well the last one is only me).

We even got stickers as we left announcing “I voted”. No lollipop though. I feel cheated…

This year, there’s no “good” candidates I felt – only an attempt to pick the least bad. The CBC had a natty online questionnaire which asked a few key questions and helped you see which party’s views were most aligned with your own. I gave it a go. Bad idea.

I was 56% aligned with both the Liberals and the NDP (the two leading parties in BC). 54% aligned with the Greens. So – not really a lot of help at all!

I was reminded of a Churchillism:

“Democracy is the worst form of government, except for all those other forms that have been tried from time to time.” (from a House of Commons speech on Nov. 11, 1947).

Despite that, yes – I did vote. Fingers crossed now. My part in the game is done.

At 8pm, we see who is steering the grand vessel that is BC.

Actions

Information

5 responses

14 05 2013
kalyrical

It was also my first time voting! But dang..i didn’t even get a sticker. 😥

15 05 2013
Quieter Elephant

Sorry they didn’t give you a sticker, but well done for making the effort. I really do think it’s a privilege, and have a hard time with those who “can’t be bothered”.

15 05 2013
kalyrical

Yeah. Also, democracy really does not work if you don’t vote. Voter apathy really really sucks.

15 05 2013
sheriji

Funny — I have an email this morning from my mom-in-law (most of Husband’s family live on Vancouver Island) about the BC elections.

And?

15 05 2013
Quieter Elephant

Libs win.
Clark lost her seat, but Libs increased their majority.
(NDP were originally forecast to comfortably win)

Leave a Reply

