Things Come Apart

6 05 2013

One of my earliest memories is as a 4 year old proudly presenting my still-sleeping father with a freshly disassembled clockwork motor from his own beloved childhood Meccano set. By my calculation he’d have been 28 then. We were living in the house I found on google maps, if you recall. I was quite proud of myself, using a screwdriver and all at such a tender age. Not quite old enough to own a rifle though. I recall my dad seemed a little less impressed with the collection of screws, springs and various odds and sods that I’d found cunningly hiding within the motor’s two steel plates.

I was totally mortified when he declared that putting it all back together was beyond his abilities. I think it was then that I learnt that my dad was mortal, and not the superhero we’d all like our parents to be. In a similar vein, a colleague many years ago surprised a fellow worker who had just deftly executed a wasp on his keyboard by challenging him to put it back together. To this day I’m not sure whether his religious beliefs had been assaulted or he was being a smart arse engineer.

Source: Meccanopedia

Fast forward a few decades, and it seems that Todd McLellan does the same thing for a living. Well – for art anyway. Shades of Ursus Wehrli, I thought. What do you think, dear reader?

Things Come Apart, 50 Disassembled Objects in 21,959 Individual Parts by Todd McLellan | Colossal.

Actions

Information

4 responses

6 05 2013
kalyrical

First thing I thought of was to disassemble…a human body. I think it would be pretty interesting to see all our organs lined up and whatnot. Now I sound like a crazy murderer.

6 05 2013
Quieter Elephant

Hm – I vaguely remember seeing one of those diagrams you see in butchers with all the various meat cuts… but of a human body. Just a picture, but so creepy in its implications. BTW – you should watch “Delicatessen”. A darkly humorous French film.

6 05 2013
kalyrical

The name already bodes something dark. Will look into it though!

6 05 2013
Quieter Elephant

Do – it’s worth it. Half the cast ended up in the later Amelie.

Leave a Reply

