Becoming an Ex-Diabetic…

15 03 2013

Diabetes is a dirty word in our family.

My dear sweet mother-in-law (no sarcasm) died from complications arising from Type 1 at the tender age of 56. My own mother was diagnosed with Type 2 in her early 40’s. I myself was diagnosed as pre-diabetic when I underwent the medical required to apply for Canadian residency, back in 2000-ish. It took literally a decade for my mother to get proper education on it from the UK medical system. For example her internalisation of the doctor’s sound advice to “lose weight” was to eat more healthily. Good… unless you try to do it by eating (nominally healthy) baked potatoes. Without the additional understanding of what diabetes is, how your body manages sugars, starches and carbohydrates in general, you’re on a hiding to nowhere.

I used to work with Barry Landsberg back in my UK days. A very well educated chap (PhD no less) who incidentally spent some of his younger life here in Canada. I’m ashamed to say that I used to pull his leg mercilessly on many occasions but could never shake his fundamental belief in the power of mind over body. And back then he had more body than most. Significantly more.

Not long after I left the UK to live in Canada I was shocked to learn from a shared acquaintance that Barry had collapsed in Carrefour hypermarché in Calais, on his way back to the UK from a business trip. It turns out he’d become diabetic, collapsed and needed hospitalising to recover. Being Barry, he took this new challenge within his stride and made very serious efforts to address his weight issue and get the diabetes under some sort of control. I believe he took up kick-boxing, and even progressed to a level where he could compete and even train others in the sport. Not bad for someone I remember as being a dead ringer for Obelix.

Eiko and Obélix

Eiko and Obélix (Photo credit: eikootje)

Anyway, fast forward a decade or so and Barry, through the choices he’s made since that scare, has become an ex-diabetic! He’s written a book to describe the process he used and hopefully help others who would otherwise be facing a lifetime under the cloud of diabetes. It’s something close to my heart (which has its own issues, but that’s another post one day), and I’m hoping to read his book very soon. It’s available in print or Kindle versions through Amazon or BookDepository (now owned by Amazon anyway).

I look forward to reading reviews, as no doubt many others will read it before it finally bubbles it’s way to the top of my own reading pile! (I still haven’t read Bill Gates’ “The Road Ahead” which I bought back in ~1995)

Becoming an Ex-Diabetic: Use Your Mind to Prevent, Manage or Even Reverse Type 2 Diabetes : Paperback : Barry Landsberg : 9781908746788.

Becoming an ex-diabetic

Becoming an ex-diabetic

Actions

Information

4 responses

18 03 2013
lanceleuven

Hmmm…It’s good to hear the guy’s doing well, but my natural scepticism kicked in at the news of him actually curing himself. Doing a quick check at diabetes.co.uk gave the answer that there is no cure, but it can go into remission. It also, notably, stated that:

‘Type 2 diabetes may go into remission either through dietary and fitness measures…’

Although, who knows. Perhaps he has managed to find a way.

18 03 2013
Quieter Elephant

I heard a guy on the radio the other day who’s been cured of AIDS in Vancouver. Even he didn’t believe it until he saw it published in a medical journal. Funny what we think constitutes “proof”.
The definition of “diabetic” seems to be whether your “fasting glucose” and “A1c” are within band. My fasting glucose is always spectacularly out of band, whereas my A1c (a more accurate “trending” measure) is comfortably IN band. The kicker is that different countries use different bands! My doctor says HE isn’t worried. Oh – well that’s OK then…

18 03 2013
lanceleuven

That’s really interesting. I haven’t heard about the Vancouver guy. But I did recently hear of a young girl in the US that they’d cured. She’d inherited it from her mother. Upon birth they immediately administered all the anti-virals and it seems to have cured her. It’s good to hear they’re making progress.

I’m no expert on diabetes to be honest but from what you say it sounds like there’s quite a bit of grey area with diagnosis. I can see why that might make you a little apprehensive, but at least your doctor isn’t say *you* should worry!

4 05 2013
Liquid Sculptures: Pierre Carreau | Quieter Elephant

[…] just reading a book at the moment from an old work colleague. (Read about it yourself here). One of the things I’ve taken on board is that you can take a negative experience and make […]

Leave a Reply

