Filling in time

30 12 2012

I hate this time of year.

I’m not big on Christmas at the best of times, but once the slight excitement of even that has passed, there’s nothing but shopping and turkey sandwiches until the New Year.

To try and fill the gap, we went on a little trip to Fort Langley this afternoon. We left it a bit late though, and it was already gone 4 o’clock before we arrived. Too late to visit the fort itself (if it’s even open at this time of year). So – we just kind of mooched around, looking for a decent spot to enjoy a cup of tea. I had my camera though, so enjoyed a few shots in the failing light (and temperature… it was ‘kin cold!) Suddenly First Born yelled and called me over to see some mushrooms she’d spotted. I’d seen similar ones before, and took a few shots to try and identify them once I got home. Here’re the results.

So, as I’ve mentioned on multiple occasions, I’m a member of the Vancouver Mycological Society. They offer many resources and references for identification of fungi. One is a database of descriptions and photos called Matchmaker. This allows you to set various parameters like size, colour, shape, etc., and it’ll help you narrow down the options of what it might be.

So – not that I’d want to rely solely on this tool to decide whether to eat a ‘shroom or not, but I’m reasonably sure that what we found was Peziza repanda. Here’s a link to the California Fungi site with some more information and photos. I love the statements that (i) it’s common but (ii) its edibility is unknown. Seems the potential lethality of fungi is a pretty good deterant to people recording the edibility of many of even the most common species! No – I don’t feel the urge to settle the question, before you ask!

Actions

Information

3 responses

31 12 2012
kalyrical

Wow those are pretty rad mushrooms! Actually, if I saw the, I probably wouldn’t have been sure they were mushrooms! Good on you for identifying them too!

31 12 2012
Quieter Elephant

Thanks. I’ve learnt quite a bit about fungi from going to the meetings at Van Dusen. They’re pretty fascinating – e.g. their DNA is closer to animals than plants. The most interesting is their toxicity. It’s not black and white. Some are only toxic when growing in certain environments. Others can be safe for one person and poisonous for another depending on their physiology. Others you can eat for years and THEN become sensitive to.

31 12 2012
kalyrical

Definitely did NOT know that mushrooms can poison some and not others! Okay, I’m writing off mushrooms on my list of stuff I can forage during the apocalypse. Since I’ll probably die from eating them..and that would kind of be a sucky death!

Leave a Reply

