Only uncertainty is certain

13 10 2012

So having first been upset, then cautiously optimistic, then utterly dashed in my oyster mushroom growing efforts, I eventually accepted the coffee grind mold expertise of sheriji and started today to spoon out the white growth from the top of my coffee.

Whole sorry tale here: Down in the fungals of Java « Quieter Elephant.

But halfway through, I stopped. There was just TOO MUCH of the white stuff in close proximity to the millet starter mycelium. I went and checked my straw bundle – a week in, it is definitely starting to show growth… and it looks JUST THE SAME.

So I looked on Google, and found this image from flashmorg, via Flickr. (Not re-posting – they’ve got a copyright notice) So… now I’m really not sure either way.

I’ve either thrown half of some really good oyster mycelium away, or I’ve kept half a tub of coffee mold. Patience doesn’t come easy to me. Easier than some perhaps, but not easy.

I will wait and report more later…

In the meantime, the mold/oyster mushrooms has been lovingly covered over in the newly moist garden to await its fate too!

Actions

Information

8 responses

14 10 2012
sheriji

Great. So not only am I now the expert on coffee ground mold, I’m the reason you went and threw away perfectly good mushroom spawn. Or something.
I guess my work here is done. Sorry?

14 10 2012
Quieter Elephant

Haha… The fat lady is still warbling her warm-up scales, let alone finished singing!
Don’t worry – I do not hold you to blame either way. If, on the other hand, you get an unexplained package with Canadian stamps on it… perhaps some caution in opening? 🙂

17 10 2012
sheriji

I’m not sure if you’re threatening me with a mail bomb, or a package of oyster mushrooms. I am a GREAT fan of the edible fungi, so if the latter is true, send away. Of course you don’t know where to send it to. . .

17 10 2012
Quieter Elephant

But I hear such great stories of the US Mail!
Won’t “Sheriji, Untied Slates of Amnesia” get to you then? I am disappointed now…

14 10 2012
sheriji

p.s. You really shouldn’t listen to me. Nobody who knows better does.

14 10 2012
Quieter Elephant

I’d just like to point out it is you, Ms, who are loitering around these self-declared Quite Irrelevant pages!

17 10 2012
sheriji

I believe it is up to the reader to determine what is irrelevant and what is not. Hence the great number of bloggers out there, each writing so as to hear his or her own voice.

17 10 2012
Quieter Elephant

Hm? Sorry! Did you say something?

Leave a Reply

