Geek or Good? (Typographic Chess Set – DesignTAXI.com)

6 10 2012

I’ve seen some interesting chess sets in my time. Made of glass, jade, soapstone.

Carved to represent the traditional shapes, or resin representations of JRR Tolkien‘s Middle Earth, even Star Wars.

This one made me stop though.  I’m not sure about this one. I can’t decide – is it clever or just TOO nerdy? Maybe both!

Typographic Chess Set – DesignTAXI.com.

What do you think, dear reader?

Actions

Information

4 responses

7 10 2012
A Dog With Fleas

That’s a tough one. Sitting here staring at it trying to think if I like it or not. My first instinct is that I don’t. More of a tradionalist I guess. Thanks for sharing. Was really interesting.

7 10 2012
Quieter Elephant

Yeah – I think I’m with you. I get that it’s “clever” on some level, but it’s not something I would necessarily want in my home.

7 10 2012
A Dog With Fleas

So true!! Me too. Plus I know what the chess pieces do by their shape and what they look like. Don’t know if just the first initial of what it was would help my horrible chess game much!! 🙂

8 10 2012
jacksjottings

Ideal for blind-fold chass players, that is why I hit the like. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

