Growing Oyster Mushrooms in Coffee Grounds : TreeHugger

3 10 2012

Those few readers who know the real pachyderm behind the Quieter Elephant will readily agree that I have the following two traits (amongst some other less savoury ones that I only divulge after excessive beer and nacho sessions).

1. A love of learning new things. The less “mainstream” the better.

2. A somewhat obsessive nature.

And so I joined the Vancouver Mycological Society. Via this I signed up for a day course in Vancouver this weekend about how to grow your own. That sent me looking for information elsewhere, and so I arrived at this blog entry.

Growing Oyster Mushrooms in Coffee Grounds : TreeHugger.

Growing ‘shrooms in coffee grounds is one of the things I’m to learn about this weekend. Yummy.

Can’t wait!

Anyone got any favourite recipes I can test drive?

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 10 2012
A Dog With Fleas

Love reading about things like this. Something I would love to learn and sure would come in handy. Can’t wait to hear how it goes.

3 10 2012
Quieter Elephant

It’s a bit of “a grand day out”. Three different types of mushrooms. One in coffee grinds (free from Starbucks), one in wood chips and one in a log. I can almost hear the butter starting to melt in the frying pan…

Leave a Reply

