On Leadership

30 05 2012

Just read this on a LinkedIn page:

Learn from the people
Plan with the people
Begin with what they have
Build on what they know
Of the best leaders
When the task is accomplished
The people will remark
We have done it ourselves.

— Lao Tzu

I’ve never read any Lao Tzu, so can’t attest its origin. Seems solid though, eh? How many leaders are comfortable with sitting back to watch their success through others, rather than jumping up and down saying “It was me! I made that happen!”

Actions

Information

6 responses

30 05 2012
lanceleuven

Great advice if you ask me. If only more leaders would reailse it. The amount of times I’ve seen managers who’ve never done a certain job and don’t know how it’s done think they know how it can be improved upon is ridiculous. And they never consult with the people who actually do they job they simply bark ill-conceived orders down the chain of command. It does my nut!

30 05 2012
Quieter Elephant

I was once told the difference between a Manager and a Leader. Managers have subordinates. Leaders have followers. They MAY be the same person. Often not…

30 05 2012
misfits' miscellany

I have too much to say, and I’m too drunk to say it. I’d make a lousy leader.

30 05 2012
Quieter Elephant

You can’t be that drunk then, if you realise it! 🙂

30 05 2012
misfits' miscellany

You obviously ain’t no lush.

31 05 2012
clyde1120

Great post. In the 20 odd years of working I can only count two managers whom I think fall into this category. It was a pleasure working for both and I often wondered what it was that made them this way?
The best answer that I came up with was excellent parenting in that they were given the freedom to explore and take risks but were also challenged to think about their actions.
Not an easy thing to do for any parent. Just makes me want a parenting course even more prior to bringing a child into this world.
Imagine that, upon receiving notice that you were pregnant couples had to attend a course that didn’t tell you what to do but at the very least made you think about what life was going to be like as a mum/dad.

Sorry for going off on a tangent but I am fairly passionate about this sort of stuff.

Clyde

Leave a Reply

