Judith I Bridgland: George Wylie – Scottish Scul?tor

27 05 2012

Thanks to MM for bringing the Scottish artist George Wylie to my notice. I had never heard of him, and it seems he has very recently died at the age of 90. Good innings, all told. A question mark for a P, and addressing big questions seem to have been his hallmark. Particularly the transient nature of powerful industries such as Glasgow’s locomotive and ship-building industries.

Judith I Brigland has a nice piece on her blog if you’d like to learn more…

Judith I Bridgland: George Wylie – Scottish Scul?tor.

Actions

Information

3 responses

27 05 2012
misfits' miscellany

He died, I didn’t know. I met him a few times. He was a friend of my mother. I found his later work was a bit repetitive; he created sculptures which pointed to the heavens. I think he was trying to make sense of the death of his wife/lover. But I do like his boat, and the Tempus Fugit sculpture outside the Buchanan bus station in Glasgow.

28 05 2012
jacky Folley

I knew and loved George in the later part of his life in Inverclyde. He was an old carmudgeon but a man full of invention and fun. George liked nothing better than to win an argument and cause a stir.
Inverclyde will be a duller place without him!
Jacky Folley.

28 05 2012
lanceleuven

Is the question mark supposed to raise the curiosity of whether it’s a boat or a hat? 🙂

Leave a Reply

