Civilisation, and what we think about it

14 05 2012

So I was struggling to remember a phrase I once read in a science fiction book as a kid. Assuming it was an Asimov book wasted me a good few minutes on Google. It turned out to be Brian Aldiss:

Civilization is the distance man has placed between himself and his excreta.

Quite to the point I thought! I eventually found it on a page with many more quotes about civilisation. Another gem I discovered was by Bryan White:

We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

Actions

Information

5 responses

15 05 2012
misfits' miscellany

Brian Aldiss is a good writer, and not just of Science Fiction.

15 05 2012
Quieter Elephant

Undoubtedly. I don’t recall the book I read as a kid, but this one line certainly “stuck”.

15 05 2012
lanceleuven

Two very excellent quotes! I particuarly like the second one. Although some people don’t even achieve that…

15 05 2012
kianys

Ha ha – love them and will totally be stealing both of them for my daily posts at some point – good stuff!

15 05 2012
Quieter Elephant

Take them with pleasure… I already borrowed them from elsewhere anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

