Run, Fat Boy, Run!

6 05 2012
Film poster for Run, Fat Boy, Run - Copyright ...

Film poster for Run, Fat Boy, Run – Copyright 2007, Material Entertainment (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So long-suffering readers will be aware I ran the Vancouver Sun Run back in April. Three weeks ago today in fact. I was disproportionately proud of my achievement. Especially as I did it in something over an hour, while the winner did it in 29:12!

Anyway, I finished it. I walked away under my own power, and by my reckoning, that was “a win”.

Basking then in this undeserved glow, I took a breather from the already far from strenuous training regime I’d subjected myself to. A couple of days slipped into a week, and so on. And then yesterday I woke up and felt, well, not to put too fine a point on it, “podgy”!

I’ve had a pretty hectic weekend giving and receiving adult training in my role within Scouts Canada, to-ing and fro-ing and meeting up with people from all over BC, sometimes until late into the night. But this morning despite being tired, I woke up and mentally hit myself with the spatula (watch the film trailer if you have no idea what I’m alluding to).

As a result, this evening I find myself on the successful end of a 4km run. The first time since the Sun Run I’ve attempted any exercise more strenuous than getting up in the night for a pee. You can not imagine how chuffed this makes me feel. Not only that I managed to ignore all the arguments I made for not doing it (we often argue – myself and I), but also for actually managing it non-stop.

Now I’m not saying I was in any danger of having The Guinness Book Of Records calling me for a statement, but I did manage to run the entire circuit without stopping, throwing my guts up, or otherwise disgracing myself in public. Of course, now I’ve done it once, I might have to do it again.

Good job I’m off to Germany for a week on business, and will be forced to drink copious amounts of fizzy German beer whilst eating far from lean Schweinshaxe, otherwise I might get fit or something…

.

Actions

Information

13 responses

7 05 2012
‘Guinness Book of Records’ Ala Angkasa Raya | ambangbatas

[…] Raya[HOT]Orang-Orang Indonesia yg masuk Guinness Book of Record . .(UPDATE GAN !) – Celoteh.NetRun, Fat Boy, Run! .set-header:after{ background-image: […]

7 05 2012
kianys

I usually try to avoid anything benefitial for the reason of having to do it again … . 😉

Enjoy your stay over here (Munich, Berlin, Hamburg, Cologne – or all of the above?) 😉

7 05 2012
Quieter Elephant

Dusseldorf actually

7 05 2012
kianys

Ha ha too funny. That’s my hometown!

Be sure to visit the Bistro Zicke (Bäckerstrasse 5, 40213 Düsseldorf – Edge of the “Altstadt” in the “Karstadt” one street down from the Rhine), if you have a free moment. It’s a very unique french style but very artsy Bistro. The food is excellent – it’s not too pricy – they have a wonderful wine menu – the staff is quirky, but very friendly and the rooms are covered in old original movie or art posters. It’s definetly worth a stay and it’s not very touristy – meaning mostly locals and not even all Düsseldorf locals know about it 😉

7 05 2012
kianys

“Karlstadt” not “Karstadt” 😉

7 05 2012
kianys

= some visuals I could find through google 😉

7 05 2012
Quieter Elephant

That’s great – thanks for the tip! I’m going to the drupa trade show. It’s every 4 years at the Messe, but I have to rediscover the restaurants/pubs every time.

7 05 2012
kianys

This weeks schedule is a bit tight, but otherwise I’d be delighted to show you all around town and get you reaquainted 😉 Like I said I grew up there for the most part and so even though it’s been a while I still know my way around it. (Actually worked at the Zicke way back when for a while 😉 )

No but seriously if you want any more pointers let me know – Enjoy your stay 🙂

7 05 2012
Quieter Elephant

Too kind! You’re a great advocate for Düsseldorf. Ironically it’s where I met 11 Canadians over the space of the 2 week show back in 2000, and was convinced it was time to leave the UK. I’m actually sleeping in Venlo, over the border, because that’s where my company’s Worldwide headquarters is. Thanks again though for your thoughtful suggestions.

7 05 2012
kianys

Anytime 🙂 And I think England would have made me want to pack my bags and live in Canada too – although Germany is quite pursuasive that way as well 😉

Enjoy the Coffee-Shops across the border 😉

7 05 2012
Quieter Elephant

I’m sure they’ll be familiar. I live in Vancouver, remember… 😉

7 05 2012
kianys

Right! 😉 I knew there must have been some reason you chose Canada over Germany (except for the obvious that is) 😉

7 05 2012
misfits' miscellany

All those German cakes and biscuits. Think of the marzipan.

Leave a Reply

