My… what a fine pear (sic)

24 03 2012

So, as mentioned elsewhere, tonight we had a very good friend around for tea. To offer tea to that is. Cannibalism is so last season, don’t you think?

Anyway, a bit of effort was thought appropriate given the importance (to us) of our guest, so we ended up having poached pears for dessert. Now, I realise this is more than a little arrogant, but I consider myself a bit of a connoisseur when it comes to dessert. It can be the perfect end to an already stimulating evening, and well worth putting a little effort into.

I’m not saying this one was good, but well, it was. Even First Born referred to it as “classy”, and she goes to university and everything! If you’ve got a few pears looking for a job, and a bottle of wine with nothing better to do… I would sincerely recommend it to them.

BBC Good Food: Poached pears in spiced red wine

 

BBC Good Food: Poached pears in spiced red wine – A completely fat-free pud that isn’t boring. It’s not just Good Food, it’s genius! We forgot the thyme, but it seemed more than fine without it. We topped it off with some posh French Vanilla ice-cream, and a good time was had by all. I’d love to hear from anyone else that gives it a go.

 

Actions

Information

4 responses

25 03 2012
misfits' miscellany

Pears baked in rum are also good, but you need a hermetically sealed baking dish to do it, otherwise the alcohol evaporates.

25 03 2012
Quieter Elephant

Unfortunately, I think it’s supposed to. These chefs have such a poor understanding of chemistry… 😉

25 03 2012
misfits' miscellany

It’s not supposed to. We’re talking haute cuisine here. You get a special baking dish which has clamps on the side. I’ve had them done thus, made by a master of all things delicious. Even in an ordinary Bolognese, you don’t want the alcohol to evaporate. Gravy from the chicken dripping, same thing, you just flash fry the mixture of wine in the roasting pan, but take it off before too much of the alcohol has gone to god. He doesn’t need it. In fact, my guess is he has a drinking problem.

25 03 2012
Quieter Elephant

On the other hand, he’s already pretty high!

Ha. I was always told the “reducing” was to keep the flavours and evaporate the alcohol, since in and of itself it had no actual flavour. Shows what I know. I’ll stick to doing the dishes and let you cook for me. I might avoid the mayonnaise though. Just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

