Gone fishin’…

29 02 2012

Well not literally. Nor quite yet.

Today (29th February) is our wedding anniversary. Our fifth, so that’s 20 years under the yoke. My reasoning was just that it was the next free Saturday at the local Registry Office, but the off-kilter date, the fact I’d only need to remember every four years, that other people would do it for me anyway, and that the date in 1992 in the UK was written as 29.2.92 all kind of helped me on the way.

So today we’re flying to Phoenix, Arizona. Well, Mesa actually, just to the East. It’s supposed to be hot and sunny – which appeals to my better half. It was cheap – which appeals to me.

There’s Tonto national forest just out of town which has some interesting-looking cave dwellings I hope to get to see. Otherwise, it looks a bit like the Okenagan from what I can tell. Hoping I don’t meet any Gila Monsters – they sound a bit, well, poisonous really! Not to mention the 3 different types of rattlesnake and some other dodgy poisonous things. I’m considering it all a grand photo opportunity, and to quote American Werewolf in London, I’ll keep to the path!

English: Head of a Gila Monster Heloderma susp...

Image via Wikipedia: Gila Monster

So – in a nutshell, I’ll be off-air for a few days, but hope to bring you some snapshots of our trip on my return. If there’s no monsters under the bed.

Actions

Information

8 responses

29 02 2012
treacle

Congratulations 🙂

5 03 2012
Quieter Elephant

Why thank-you!
Obviously my wife has the patience of a saint…

29 02 2012
misfits' miscellany

Cheers, QE, don’t get naked near the cacti, no matter what kinda Gila Monster gets unleashed.

5 03 2012
Quieter Elephant

I never knew they had such cuddly names! There really is a “hedgehog cactus” and a “teddy bear cactus”. “Old man cactus” was definitely the most phallic though… since you were bound to ask.

29 02 2012
barbaraelka

Arizona sounds so good here in rainy NYC

4 03 2012
Quieter Elephant

Just got back from hot/sunny Phoenix tonight.
I am sooooo glad it’s raining in BC. My wife loved the few days of sun, but me, well, I’m just weird….

1 03 2012
daterofboys

Happy Anniversary and trip!

4 03 2012
Quieter Elephant

Why thank-you!
I took an incredible number of photos, so I’m sure you’ll all get to share some of the sights we saw over the last few days. Assuming a few are in focus…

Leave a Reply

