SCUBA-dooby-doo

19 02 2012

So last born is a third year Scout, and today they all had a session at the pool learning the basics of SCUBA diving. I took a shed-load of photos, but I’m sure you’re not interested in a bunch of kids not drowning. OK – one then, since you asked so nicely.

Last born: Not drowning

Last born: Not drowning

To try and stave off boredom for the rest of the three hour session, I mucked about with my new 300mm lens again. Surprisingly, people don’t seem to mind you taking photos in the public swimming pool, despite lots of barely clad folk ambling about. I tried using long exposures to get smoothing effects in the pool water, and large aperture settings to see if I can get some bokeh. The long lens makes accurate focus a bit more challenging, but a good photographer friend recently gave me some tips and a few more came out as intended this time around. I resisted cataloguing the parade of ladies derrières and instead went for the water, the building itself and the various colourful floaty things that inhabit public pools these days.

I hope at least a couple catch your eye. They’re all “au naturel”. No PhotoShop, no flash even. Hand held. Just me, the camera, and a few billion photons.

Actions

Information

7 responses

20 02 2012
misfits' miscellany

You are odd.

20 02 2012
Quieter Elephant

Though obviously I don’t disagree, why particularly so?

20 02 2012
misfits' miscellany

Anthropomorphizing the colourful ball. I bet you talk to the furniture.

20 02 2012
Quieter Elephant

It was a reference to The Prisoner: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rover_(The_Prisoner)

20 02 2012
Quieter Elephant

Anyway – the settee never talks behind my back. The TV does sometimes though.

20 02 2012
misfits' miscellany

Does that make you The Schizoid Man?

A.A. Gill writes about television: “what do call a box that the more you put into it, the emptier it gets?”

20 02 2012
Quieter Elephant

Hardy har.

Is this another trap for rude jokes? 😉

Leave a Reply

