If you go down to the woods today…

5 02 2012

I got bored today. It happens.

If I’m not careful, I get dangerous when I get bored. Best to have a creative outlet at such times, as Bunbury is oft reminding me. Mine tends to be photography (or blogging, or learning left-handed calligraphy, or …). I’m not very good, but I can afford fancy enough tools that the results are tolerable anyway. So today I set myself the challenge of photographing moss. As mentioned previously (in reference to wretched raccoons), there is much woodland in the vicinity. It’s been a clear sunny day, so off I went, Box Brownie in hand. The Lower Mainland is basically a temperate rainforest from end to end. As well as lots of trees we have lots of rain, hence “rainforest”. Rainforests have lots of interesting thing in addition to the trees themselves, and as well as the moss, I captures a few shots of lichen, fungus and what-not.

The results are below for you to like or dislike or find quite irrelevant as you deem fit. Click on an image to have it enlarged and to more easily scroll through.

Thanks for stopping by!

Actions

Information

11 responses

5 02 2012
daterofboys

All of my lichen photos in BC look flat.
I’m also using a p-o-c camera, so that’s probably the problem…
What I’m trying to say is: Great shots!!!!

5 02 2012
Quieter Elephant

Thank-you kindly! I really appreciate the kind words.

5 02 2012
barbaraelka

would love to take walk in BC. Beautiful country

5 02 2012
Quieter Elephant

I’m sure BC would welcome your visit from over the other side of the continent! (Bring your camera though… 😉 )

6 02 2012
misfits' miscellany

They should never have let you near those reference books. And I’ve just now made the connection between QI and QE.

6 02 2012
Quieter Elephant

You’ll have to spell that one out, I’m afraid. What’s QI?

7 02 2012
Quieter Elephant

And the tagline of “Quite irrelevant musings from a mid-life crisis” wasn’t a big enough hint?

6 02 2012
misfits' miscellany

QI is the name of Stephen Fry’s program, which he says stands for Quite Interesting but also suggested it could stand for Quite Irrelevant, which I presume is the Quieter Elephant pun.

Saw a great piece of theatre on Sat night, by the way, Sacred Elephant, a poem by Heathcote Williams turned monologue for the stage.

6 02 2012
Quieter Elephant

Ah! Thanks. I might have to wait for that to make it over the pond before I get to sample it. What channel? I might be able to get it online. (Assuming it’s worth the effort. Is it?)

7 02 2012
misfits' miscellany

I think you’d love it. It’s full of facts and details about things quite interesting and quite irrelevant. And it’s funny. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/QI

7 02 2012
Quieter Elephant

Excellent! Thanks for the tip. I’ll hunt it down…
In fact, just have done. Looking forward to Season 1 in due course. Thanks again!!

Leave a Reply

