Milestones

17 01 2012

So I started this blogging lark when a work colleague suggested it as a release for my pent up creative juices. Or something.

That was December 13th… exactly 5 weeks ago today. In that time I’ve apparently acquired 50 followers (including some email followers), and had 1200 hits on the blog’s various pages, with a peak of 149 in a single day. I am (to use a phrase from the old country) gob-smacked! These are not the figures of a more well-established blog I realise, but I’m amazed I’ve attracted so much attention with my random (quiet irrelevant) burblings.

Thank-you kind readers. I only hope you’ve found a few words of entertainment or even education along the way, in these scribblings.

Now let’s go find some more lines to cross together…

Silsden Milestone

Flickr: Silsden Milestone

Actions

Information

11 responses

18 01 2012
misfits' miscellany

I hope you don’t come to Cocking End!

18 01 2012
Quieter Elephant

Are there other ways?

18 01 2012
misfits' miscellany

Oh yes! The full litany of expletives. According to Peter Silverton (author of the wonderful FILTHY ENGLISH, the reason that an American cock is called a rooster and that a tap (once also called a cock) is called a faucet, is because of the pudency of the Americans; so they went around renaming things that had the word cock, amongst other things. It’s a great book.

18 01 2012
Quieter Elephant

Excellent – I’ll add it to my http://www.bookdepository.com wish list. Thanks for the lead…
I was actually referencing the verb, BTW.

4 08 2012
Quieter Elephant

So – 6 months down the line, and I finally started to read this book! Thanks for the tip MM. Enjoying it so far…

5 08 2012
misfits' miscellany

Yea, it’s good stuff. Glad you’re enjoying. Sorry I haven’t been getting to your posts these last couple of days, but I’ve been struggling with time and a lousy internet connection.

5 08 2012
Quieter Elephant

Ha! Don’t you worry about that. I always enjoy your quips, but it’s not the ONLY reason I post! 🙂
I’m away for a week in Victoria, so you’ve got time to catch up probably…

18 01 2012
daterofboys

Keep it coming, please 🙂

18 01 2012
Quieter Elephant

I shall do my best. Thanks for the support!

19 01 2012
Lockhaart

Wish my blog got the same amount as yours! Well done

19 01 2012
Quieter Elephant

Just be yourself! It’s not a competition. I’ll swing by more often. How’s that for a start?

Leave a Reply

