Where crystal meth chemists go to be honest

27 12 2011

I have three children. “One of each” as I like to joke. It’s not very funny I know, but I don’t care. My middle offspring is the fashionista. She subscribes to a magazine called Nylon. Its content keeps her abreast of the latest trends on both sides of the pond, and I occasionally scan its pages. For the articles, you understand. No really – it helps keep me up to date with the bands I would have heard if I ever bothered to listen to the radio. Also the UK bands that I might otherwise not get to hear about at all. The fashions themselves leave me as befuddled as the next parent though.

Anyway, one day I was thumbing through a copy while eating my cornflakes and guzzling my morning bucket of tea. I was drawn up short by an advert for nail polish. It was of an unusual concept indeed, and I was struck by the technology that went into this digital cosmetic. (Aw come on…) This nail polish is magnetic. As best as I can make out, you apply it to your fingernails as normal, then apply a magnet while it’s drying (there’s one built into the lid for convenience). Scientific magic happens and you end up with a patterning in the colouration from the effect of the magnetic field on the particles embedded in the polish. Fascinating! I was then struck by how many other “clever” things that were appearing in cosmetics of late. Surely this is an indication of a more constructive channeling of the skills of the chemist than the less healthy (and less legal) meth kitchen so common in certain locales. If you’re interested, the product is available at Sephora in Vancouver – and presumably other locations. It’s a brand called Nails Inc.

There’s even a handly little “how to” on YouTube:

Only slightly more complicated than respraying your car, but I’m sure you’re worth it! Once home from Uni., my elder daughter got in on the act too, and here’s a “real life” result care of her:

Magnetic Nails

Magnetic Nails

Actions

Information

4 responses

28 12 2011
misfits' miscellany

Don’t knock meth, it’s had a profound cosmetic impact on my teeth and nails.

28 12 2011
Quieter Elephant

Ha – when I was a kid, meths was purple and just what you used to get your Primus stove lit. (Or to burn in your Trangia if you were hard core).
In Canada, THAT meth is known as Methyl Hydrate. Saves confusion in advertising, I suppose…

31 12 2011
misfits' miscellany

I suspect you might enjoy a series called MAD MEN, about advertising and a lot more, if you don’t already know it.

31 12 2011
Quieter Elephant

Thanks for the tip. Heard of it… never watched it.

Leave a Reply

