Soya like coffee, do you?

27 12 2011

A couple of years ago, my wife asked me if I’d like an espresso machine for Christmas. As a great consumer of all things caffeinated (i after e despite lack of c) , I’ve always loved the idea of an espresso machine, but in a brief spasm of sensibility said that I knew I’d hardly ever use it, and as they cost more than a Canon zoom lens (as a purely random comparison), I felt the money could be better spent elsewhere. This didn’t seem to be the right answer, and I eventually succumbed, in the cause of domestic harmony.

I even have a T-shirt with the caffeine molecule… I delight in responding to the question “what is it?” with “my addictive drug of choice”.

Caffeine T-shirt

Caffeine T-shirt

So anyway, “my” new machine is quite a feat of engineering. It’s a Saeco. I discovered (I love discovering new things) while researching this blog entry that they’re now owned by Philips. I particularly like Philips DVD players because they’re decent players and are capable of being region-free without any dismantling or downloading dodgy patches. Important if you like watching foreign films. Just sayin’…

Saeco Odea Go

Saeco Odea Go

Anyway, while it turns out to indeed be true that I rarely use the machine, being (i) fundamentally a lazy bugger, and (ii) impatient, it turns out to get lots of usage at the hands of my much less lazy or impatient wife. Funny how these things work out. On high days and holidays though, I actually get to use “my” present… primarily to make my wife a coffee. Today was such a day, and the request was for a latte made with chocolate soya milk. I blame the fact we moved to the Pacific Northwest that I even knew what that meant. Back in the old country, coffee was either black or white. That was the only selection to be made. If you wanted to get fancy, you might offer sugar. (Royalty reportedly had brown sugar). Starbucks famously could not turn a profit in the UK for several years… the culture would not support their pricing for “poncy drinks”. Things change…

So anyway, I was quite impressed with the way it turned out, and thought I’d share a photo of the results!

Bottoms up! (A favourite position).

Actions

Information

4 responses

28 12 2011
misfits' miscellany

Can’t stand Starbucks. They don’t know how to make a good espresso, the basis for all good coffee. I’m serious consumer of very large espressos, have two 15-bar machines and two moka pots. Only the Italians know how to roast coffee properly, at least for espresso. And since the world’s coffee supply is increasingly more valuable, it rankles that places like Starbucks not only have a following but are getting are ruining the precious beans. If they really made good coffee, they might not have to disguise their crimes with their range of frothy confections. But this is the just the skewed view of a junkie.

28 12 2011
Quieter Elephant

So true.
I was introduced to lattes by my friend in Tacoma, WA (perilously close to Seattle – home of Starbucks). I think the American taste for all things sweet and frothy means they’ve never had to learn how to make proper coffee. I went to Verona, Italy and naively asked for a latte, but got nothing but blank stares.
I recently went to Brazil though, and thought “great – I can get some REAL coffee beans”… except you can’t buy them for love nor money. They seem to only drink filter coffee. Good stuff, but pre-ground. Ho hum.
Anyway, I drink way more tea than coffee, so it’s all a little moot. It’s genetic in Yorkshiremen. We’re born to the sound of “Its head’s coming out… put kettle on, pet”.

28 12 2011
misfits' miscellany

I’ve heard it said that Seattle wouldn’t have been such a major player in the world of the micro-chip if it hadn’t been for the coffee that fuelled its denizens.

The only time I drink tea is when a duty call to someone’s house demands I have something and they have no coffee, whisky or wine.

28 12 2011
Quieter Elephant

Then you are denying yourself many pleasures my friend!

Leave a Reply

