Oh, Oscar Wilde. Thank goodness you were so naughty.

27 12 2011

I have a bit of a thing for humour. Preferably sly, clever, subversive humour. Cue Oscar Wilde. He was Irish it’s true, but nobody’s perfect. I was idly browsing WordPress blogs for Wilde references (idle being something I do particularly well), when I came across this piece by one Sarah Alice Waterhouse, an English student at Exeter Uni, in the UK. (It’s on the way to Cornwall… I didn’t realise people actually stopped there though.) I recommend her writings… as a proper English student her grammar and punctuation is much better than that employed by yours truly.

I particularly like that she does left-handed smileys, thus:

(:

Staring into “The Picture of Dorian Gray” « The Adventures of an English Student.

Oscar picks out his ear wax

Actions

Information

7 responses

27 12 2011
SarahAlice

Thank you so much for reading and writing about my ramblings!
(:
I’m going to have a little look around this fabulous website now.
Thank you for reading.
(:
Sarah Alice

27 12 2011
Quieter Elephant

So are you actually a southpaw, or just out of phase generally?

28 12 2011
misfits' miscellany

“Work is the curse of the drinking classes.”

31 12 2011
SarahAlice

A southpaw? I’ve never come across this expression before. (:

31 12 2011
Quieter Elephant

I think it’s usually used in boxing, but more generally – “a leftie” comme moi:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Southpaw#Southpaw

3 01 2012
SarahAlice

Ahh, I see. No, I’m right handed mostly, for writing and drawing stuff, but when I’m working (i.e. bar work, etc) I use my left arm seems to be dominant. It’s very strange…
(:

3 01 2012
Quieter Elephant

Hm… I think I’ve just got a blogging topic!

Leave a Reply

