John Wayne’s teeth

25 12 2011

Firstly – Merry Christmas!

As is socially expected on these occasions, I over-indulged today, and ate enough food to keep an entire family of more deserving people fed for a week. And I didn’t even partake of my wife’s lovely Christmas Pudding yet! I even let my son perform the annual “setting fire to perfectly good food for theatrical effect” ceremony. Traditionally this involves pouring a spoon of brandy on the hot pudding and setting fire to it to “flame” or “fire” it. Never been one to leave a rule or tradition unbent, I recently tested the flammable qualities of an Australian rum going by the name of Bundaberg. This turns out to be somewhere only just south of petrol and gives a sustained pyrotechnic display allowing for photography and enough time to rush to the kitchen for a bucket of water. This was duly substituted for brandy in today’s proceedings. Being relatively young, I feel sure my son’s eyebrows will regrow in due course.

Anyway, this has nothing to do with the current posting which is about a song that I have had in my head for a couple of days. It’s a First Nations style chant, performed by The Eaglebear Singers, called John Wayne’s Teeth. I first heard it in a film called Smoke Signals.

Smoke Signals is a quirky little comedy/drama based in WA state up here in the Pacific Northwest, and introduced me to fry bread and driving deliberately in reverse for sustained periods. Based on a short story from the book  Lone Ranger and Tonto: Fistfight in Heaven by Sherman Alexie, I recommend both the film and the book. The film has the advantage of coming with music though.

If you want something more thoughtful for the holiday season, check out Ulali’s “All my Relations”, also in the film.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

