The times have changed…

2 12 2013

But not as much as we might think!

Check out Bored Panda for some dated adverts that would surely be banned these days.

Bored Panda: Vintage Ads No. 12

I’m not a climber myself, but I know a couple, and they’d have an issue with the line “On a mountain they’re something of a drag”.

I posit that things aren’t so different these days though – we’re just a lot more subtle… except where car/motorbike sales are concerned of course.

 

Actions

Information

5 responses

6 12 2013
lanceleuven

Oh my god! They are unbelievable! :-o

10 12 2013
Quieter Elephant

Agreed, but always dangerous to look at old/foreign stuff through a modern/western lens though…
The advertising was “of its time”.
A bit like how we mourn Mandela for what he offered the world, whilst quietly forgetting that we used to consider him a pro-communist terrorist at the time he was jailed. Things change. Ideas change. People change.

11 12 2013
lanceleuven

‘Tis very true indeed. And I’m sure it works both ways. I’m sure there are many things I do that would be deemed rude/uncouth/inapropriate to people from that time (I swear too much. I answer the phone with a casual “Hi there”. I probably slouch too much. I don’t write letters to thank people for having me as a house guest etc, etc etc)

11 12 2013
Quieter Elephant

Haha… how much slouching is “too much”?

11 12 2013
lanceleuven

My knuckles never heal from the abrasive action of the floor. I’m pretty sure that’s considered in the ball park of too much. ;-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

