Furple

10 08 2012

Furple?

Yup – like fugly (first-born’s favourite adjective for those who were last in the queue when good looks were being handed out).

Now this isn’t strictly an entry into the Weekly Photo Challenge from last week. For a start, it’s now THIS week, and “purple” was the challenge for LAST week. Secondly, it’s more a theme thing than a single entry for “postaday“.

We have a photo club at work, and we were ferkling around for ideas. I suggested we set ourselves a weekly challenge and submitted photos on a theme. Pillock! Of course, now I’d thought of an acceptable idea, I had to think of the theme! Not being one who’s afraid of re-purposing an existing idea, I simply suggested we use the weekly theme from WordPress’s weekly photo challenge. It happened to be “purple” last week, and despite being on holiday and not expecting to be able to submit my own entry (oh the sweet irony!) I still took a few piccies… just in case.

Originally, I was content knowing that I couldn’t take part as I was away on holiday so felt no pressure to even look, but as I walked down Fort St. into downtown Victoria, I happened to walk over these rather fetching purple cobbles. They were quite glass-like, but I believe they are some kind of flint or quartz. I’ve never seen it anything but grey/black before, but perhaps a geologist out there in netland can educate us all.

Almost next to the purple cobbles there was a shoe store called Footloose. It had some pretty eye-catching (primarily in a good way) offerings. These boots were pretty funky, and I know of at least one young lady who’d be very happy to sport them on her feet.

I only half-heartedly took this photo. A “snap” really, just to record the boots. There’s lots of window reflection, but I just loved those boots!

According to the Footloose website, they’re “Classic Fluevog Radio BBC Boot in Beeswaxed Suede”. A snip at $269.00. Here’s their own much better lit photo (note my cobbles in the background!):

Footloose on Fort St.: Classic Fluevog Radio BBC Boot

Every day we walked the length of Fort St. into town and back at least once. Usually twice. On Cook St. and Fort, there was a little boutique with the eye-catching name of “The Velvet Crease” with purple lettering.

Now, I’m sorry. I really am. Especially when I know that its customers are perfectly proper, upstanding female citizens of the provincial capital. But please! I ask you… Am I the only one with a mind that thought it was a sex shop or some similar purveyor of adult entertainment?

Later in the day, we had to go hunting wild boar and similar vittles to nourish the offspring and her beloved. Actually, we just went to The Market on Yates. Now this shop impressed me greatly. It had a host of organic and local foods at reasonable prices, but best of all… it sold imported UK foods such as Rose’s Lime marmalade, HP sauce with Guinness (not sure how long that’s been available to buyers in the UK, but it’s a new one to me!), and a reasonable selection of Heinz tinned puddings! I resisted their purchase, but snapped the purple ones on my BlackBerry. (Yes, it does say Spotted Dick. Stop being so childish! That’s my job.)

Again – a quick snap to document rather than be a good photo. Sorry for the glare.

As you walk up Fort St. out of town, you enter a slightly less salubrious area. Not “bad” as such (though the high number of law firms you pass definitely make you want to shower when you get home). Just more rental properties, students and the like. Close to the apartment we were renting, there was a bit of street graffiti/tagging that (being purple) caught my lens.


Despite coming back to the flat one day to see a man being bundled into a police car while an ambulance crew tended the results of his earlier endeavours, the more easterly stretches of Fort St. were in fact quite well tended and loved for the most part. One apartment building had some quite stunning hydrangeas ranging from pinks and reds, through blues to deep purples.

And that, dear reader, is that: a whistle-stop tour of Victoria as seen through a purple lens. It’s getting late now, but I’m sure I can squeeze a few more posts out of my experiences in BC’s capital another day. You have been warned…


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

