Oh alright… you can come home then

18 07 2012

Today was the day Mrs E and last born came home from 10 days in Blighty. They’d managed to squeak their way out before the Olympic gong show (literally!) began, and were full of stories of how G4S were mucking up the security arrangements. My favourite was “The head of G4S was asked if it was true many of the staff couldn’t speak fluent English, and he said he didn’t understand the question”. Classic.

 

The downside was that I had to get up early to wash the dishes and tidy away the detritus from 10 days of hard gin soaked partying (I wish!).

 

The upside was the huge bag of long forgotten treasures they brought back from the Old Country. Quavers, Walkers crisps, Jaffa Cakes… and Soreen Malt Loaf. By sheer coincidence, I’d been talking about this last delicacy only the other week. It’s hard to describe really. Fundamentally a fruit cake, but with malt, so decidedly squidgy and gooey. Their website helpfully has a link to “Where can I buy it“. Thinking this would be a helpful list of mail-order options, I clicked… to be greeted by a short list of the main UK supermarket chains. There’s nothing for it dear reader… send someone off to the UK and get yourself some!

 

Soreen… only in the UK you say?!

 

[Glad to see they got the Union Jack the right way up on the packet!]

 

Actions

Information

3 responses

19 07 2012
misfits' miscellany

Ah, there you are. When people visit from SA, my brother demands they bring his favourites which aren’t available in the UK. I guess it’s what you grew up with.

19 07 2012
Quieter Elephant

Aw – did you miss me? Not that Soreen is exactly Earth-shattering, but I just haven’t felt like I’ve had much to say of late. I think I might be ill, since I usually have at least TWO opinions on most things. Often opposing.

20 07 2012
misfits' miscellany

Ah, the Elephant is winding down… don’t let the fuckers get ya down.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

