3 07 2012

Quieter Elephant:

These creativity killers are very real!
Nice find by “thoughtsontheatre”.
I left my previous employer because I was being stalked by many of these. I could feel their grip closing around me…

Originally posted on Thoughts on Theatre:

While we have plenty to be afraid of in our daily lives, these seven killers may have never crossed your mind. Mostly because these ones don’t have a face, or even a name. But they are dangerous all the same. Husband and wife team Andrew and Gaia Grant have dubbed them the “creativity killers.”

Our generation has seen a steep drop off in creativity despite access to better resources, quicker communication, and a host of other perks. Meaning that these menacing criminals have already been stalking their prey and getting away with it for far too long. Thanks to the Grants’ book, Who Killed Creativity, we now have a forensic gameplan for how to spot these killers in action and prevent them from committing future crimes.

The best way to stay safe from them out on those mean streets? Use failure as an opportunity to learn, pick a new hobby and…

View original 62 more words

Actions

Information

9 responses

3 07 2012
misfits' miscellany

I’m not sold. Too easy, a bit glib. Things like pain can make you think. If the pain is great, you will pass through pessimism and cynicism and apathy. But if you’re really thinking, you’ll be able to contextualize them as only a part of the whole. And if you’re driven enough to try and understand, then nothing will stop you creating.

And an artist must sometimes insulate themselves in order to create. I know the reference is about insular thinking, but many many artists work for long periods alone with the dark and the light, and so are able to explore the contrasts and contradictions of human experience. So do scientists, who are also creative.

I will not the trust the food critic who hasn’t eaten lousy food, because their measure of good food has no basis for comparison.The same goes for artists, mirrors of the world. I don’t want to learn about life (which may not be the only thing to get from art, but it’s the stuff that makes me focus the most) from an artist who doesn’t understand what negativity, darkness, is about. Because pessimism and all those things are part of the world.

I read something, a quote by a cognitive psychologist, who suggested that the artistic temperament has a lot in common with dyslexia, the rearranging of things in a way that makes sense in a new way. A form of derangement, in the purely scientific sense. When your perspective is partly defined by a variation from the standard, then, however consciously or subconsciously, you must experience a form of alienation.

I’m aware that it’s not the same for people to release their creativity as it is for an artist, and I’m talking about art rather than learned craft–not that each can’t have a bit of the other. The artists and scientists are the end measure. Do I get out of jail free for this acknowledgement?

3 07 2012
Quieter Elephant

Haha… I always enjoy your comments MM, and I agree with much of your post. In a more “average” context though, I do think people with some creative potential can be worn down by their environment, and so not actually produce it. Particularly in a work environment where the motive to create isn’t from within, such as with art.
I learned a lot from reading Edward de Bono’s book on lateral thinking. I don’t think he can write to save his life, but I found much of use in his ideas of “how to think better”.

4 07 2012
misfits' miscellany

Ah, yes, De Bono, I’ve read some of his books. So I’ll put on my red hat with black slippers and channel Marx, (Karl not Groucho), and say that creativity which is void of internal motivation other that job survival, is merely a contemporary and harder-to-pinpoint form of his old production-line alienation–job satisfaction must come from a feeling one is contributing to something more worthwhile than capitalism.

But I do understand, I do.

5 07 2012
Quieter Elephant

I agree with the satisfaction thing too. I walked away from my last job just before they handed out the largest bonuses they’d given ever. Like 2-3 times bigger. Best thing I ever did. I love my new job because I am contributing. It’s not about the money (once it’s above some minimum required to live OK-ish). A big pay-rise is nice… but it wears thin. “Golden handcuffs” I used to call it.

5 07 2012
misfits' miscellany

I like “Golden handcuffs”. I might use it. I’m glad you’re getting satisfaction. I’ve only ever experienced fleeting satisfaction, but it’s own fault. I don’t dwell on anything good I do…I degrade it.
I wrote a poem about it:

http://www.zygoteinmycoffee.com/100s/issue138thingsitellmyself.html

5 07 2012
Quieter Elephant

I just read about Mats Wilander refusing to accept match point in 1982 because it was a bad call. He replayed the point (and won “properly”). http://www.wimbledon.com/en_GB/news/articles/2012-07-05/201207041341419690858.html
Worth and value only come through sense of earning it. Throwing money at people without them feeling they’ve earned it does nothing for loyalty.

5 07 2012
misfits' miscellany

Not for all, of course. For many success is measured by money, no matter how it’s acquired. Since money has great influence, many of the people who will do anything for it, have more influence than they should. I wish I was a bit greedier for money. Don’t get born into a thespian household.

5 07 2012
Quieter Elephant

I’ve often wondered how one would ever select a pencil in such a home. 2B or not 2B?

5 07 2012
misfits' miscellany

There’s certainly lead in that joke.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

