You couldn’t handle TWO of me…

31 03 2012

So the more persistent readers may recall that #2 offspring took my film Canon SLR out for a spin last week. Of the 24 exposures, at least 5 passed muster. I should tell her a little about composing the frame, rule of thirds, and all that – the little I myself know, and have been educated on by those more knowledgeable. But for a novice, I was impressed with her eye. (The one in the middle).

Doing my daily trawl through the blogs I follow, I found a posting about a Korean artist who paints images in the style of double-exposed photographs. The fact they were of skirts being swished tantalisingly close to exposing underwear (or not) was neither here nor there. Though on reflection it was undeniably closer to there . You can check out the Ho Ryon Lee posting on artstormer (always worth a peruse) or even Faith Is Torment.

Faith Is Torment: Ho Ryon Lee

So anyway, dragging this posting back on track, this reminded me of the fun I had as a student taking multiple-exposure images “in camera”, and I got to thinking whether there was actually an equivalent option with the digital reality of today. A cursory search seemed to indicate that most people just use PhotoShop or equivalents to do it now. A much more precise (but frankly BO-RING) method. However, I don’t wish to devalue the art in it… it’s just a different technique – more akin to photo-montage (which I suppose it is, but in the Z axis). Not what I was hoping for. I’ll keep looking. I’m sure there’s an in-camera way, even now.

That said, I came across this whimsical piece which I thought I’d share. It has several layers/multiple exposures (at least 6), and by using the steady light from the streetlamp, the shadows are kept consistent, making the editing a lot less fiddly.

Have a great weekend wherever you may travel, or be returning from.

foryoutoknowtice: Brad/Jeff fight

 

Actions

Information

4 responses

31 03 2012
Quieter Elephant

Galarie Bhak has some different Ho Ryon Lee images too: http://www.galeriebhak.com/exhibition/2009101/exhibition_e.works.html

31 03 2012
Quieter Elephant

OK, so still PhotoShop, but if you’re a Canon user and are OK with this route, this might be of interest: http://www.msjphotography.com/index.php/2010/07/photoshop-workbench-236-canon-multiple-exposure-script/

31 03 2012
misfits' miscellany

Big feet for such an edible bottom.

31 03 2012
Quieter Elephant

Reminds me of a Morecambe & Wise sketch…

Are you staring at my knees?
No – I’m above that.

Perhaps your comment explains my sudden interest in green shoes though.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

